Manu Ginabili, Tim Hardway, Sweeney Cash, Lindsay Whelan among 13 Hall of Fame members

Four-time NBA champion Manu Ginabili, five-time NBA all-time champion Tim Hardway, three-time WNBA champion and two-time gold medalist Sweeney Cash, as well as five-time WNBA all-time champion and four-time WNBA champion 20 was announced on Saturday.

Other winners include two-time NCAA coach Bob Huggins, longtime NBA coach George Carl, longtime NBA referee Hugh Evans and former NCAA champion and WNBA coach of the year Marianne Stanley.

Along with these eight, six-time Lou Hudson was elected by the Veterans Committee, six-time NBA All-Star Game and former coach Larry Castello and former coach Del Harris were elected by the Committee of Contributors, former AIAW three-time All-American Korach, who once scored 99 points in the Euroleague game, was elected by the International Committee.

“Class 2022 is ripe with individuals who have had a significant historical impact on the game we love,” said John L. Daleva, President and CEO of the Hall of Fame. “We congratulate and thank them for all they have done to improve the sport, and look forward to honoring them during the commemoration this fall.”

The commemoration ceremony is scheduled for Sept. 10 in Springfield, Massachusetts.

Ginabili is one of two players along with Bill Bradley to win the Euroleague title, the NBA Championship and the Olympic gold medal. Ginabili has twice participated in All-Star Game, twice in the NBA and was the sixth man of the year in the 2007-08 season for his 16-year career with the San Antonio Spurs. He led his native Argentina to a gold medal at the 2004 Olympics.

“I was part of two incredible teams; if it weren’t for those two teams, I wouldn’t be here,” Ginobili said. “It’s not just about personal achievements. I’ve never won a championship, an MVP or even won [All-NBA] The first team. I’m here because of my environment, because of the players I played with, because of the coaches I coached [by] and organizations. I know I was very lucky. “

But Ginabili left his mark in the game in how he used sideways movement after taking dribbling to get punches in the paint. He became known as “Eurostep” because Ginabili played for the team that won the Euroleague Championship in Bologna, Italy, before joining the NBA.

“I’ve never seen myself create anything or bring anything new. I just played the way I thought possible, ”Ginabili said, stressing the problem of trying to kill 7-foot Shaquille O’Neal early in his career.

“I wasn’t going to go through Shaka and get wet, I had to go around people,” Ginabili said. “It’s the way I have the skills and physical ability to get to the rim. I’ve been doing it for as long as I can remember.”

Hardway, who won gold at the 2000 Olympics, was a five-time All-NBA qualifier, winning first team awards in 1996-97 and second team awards three times. He is in the top 20 of all time in terms of assists and 12th place in all time in terms of assists per game.

Cash was a four-time WNBA star. In addition to her WNBA titles and Olympic gold medals, she was a two-time NCAA champion at UConn, where she helped lead the Huskies to a perfect 39-0 mark in 2001-02. Cash was inducted into the Women’s Basketball Hall of Fame last year and currently holds the position of vice president of basketball operations for the New Orleans Pelicans.

Whelan, a two-time Olympic gold medalist, was included in the first WNBA team in 2008, 2011 and 2013. She is ranked third ever in the WNBA on assists and has topped the league five times in that category. As a player in Minnesota, where she currently serves as head coach, Whelan led the Golden Gophers to the Final Four in 2004 and has been recognized as an American three times.

West Virginia coach Huggins has spent 39 seasons as head coach, making more than 900 career wins. He led his teams to two final four, once in Cincinnati and one with the Climbers.

Carl has been the NBA’s head coach for 27 seasons and ranks sixth in his career with 1,175 wins. He led Seattle to the NBA Finals in 1996 and was named NBA Coach of the Year in 2013 with the Denver Nuggets.

Over his 28-year career, Evans spent more than 1,900 regular-season games, 170 playoff games and 35 NBA finals before leaving the court in 2001.

Stanley, now the coach of Indiana Fever, coached the Old Dominion before the NCAA Championships in 1984-85 and the AIAW Championships in 1979 and 1980. She was named WNBA Coach of the Year in 2002 with Washington Mystics.

Hudson and Castella will be introduced posthumously. Hudson has played 11 seasons in the Hawks franchise and has averaged 20.2 points in his 13-year career in the NBA. Castello was known as the last two-handed throw and twice led the NBA in the percentage of free throws.

Harris was the NBA coach of the year with the Los Angeles Lakers in 1994-95 as part of a coaching career that spanned more than 50 years. Shank-Grenz was a member of three consecutive AIAW national champions at the University of Immaculate from 1972 to 1974.

Korac led Yugoslavia to a silver medal at the 1968 Olympics and a silver medal at the 1963 and 1967 World Cups. He has 99 points throughout the Euroleague in singles and was inducted into the FIBA ​​Hall of Fame in 2007. died after a car crash in 1969.

The Associated Press contributed to this story.

Leave a Comment